top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Stephens

Chosen

"Will I be chosen, wanted, seen, fought for?" - Stasi Eldridge


This is the core question of a woman's heart. This is the core question of a mother's heart. Will her son choose her for guidance, leadership, love, grace and mercy? Will she be wanted by her daughter to absorb her radiance? Will she be fought for by her husband to protect and provide for her? It leads me to this question:


Is God wanting to be chosen, wanted, seen, fought for by the presence of His image bearers? "Seek the Lord and his strength; seek his presence continually" (1 Chronicles 16:11, ESV). Why is that? Why does the Lord want us to seek His face continually? I mean after all, He is God and He can certinaly satisfy Himself without our pursuit of Him but is that how He actually operates? He longs for us to desire Him. Is it possible that He wants us to go after Him with passionate love because He longs for His people to show the world who He is? Are we the glory He carries?


No wonder mothers help there sons and daughters with math homework. No wonder they run in the midst of danger when there son or daughter is hurt so that she is there to bring healing. All a mother wants is to be a part of the greatest adventures in life.


Mary heard His voice.

She can feel the tangible touch of YHWH.

She believed she was chosen.

The Messiah looked into her soul and saw the power of her faith. "He set his gaze upon the willingness of his mother" (Luke 1:48, TPT). My mind is filled with imagination over this verse. The face of God set his eyes upon the desire of a teenage woman. She is filled with life and love. The tenderness, affection, love, grace, and mercy that she carries is astounding. "And from here on, everyone will know that I have been favored and blessed" (Luke 1:48, TPT). She believes with certainty she is chosen. She radiates with glory. She is strong in her spirit and runs with the energy of God in her veins. She laughs at the face of hell and pride trembles before her presence. Her song rings true today as a prophetic outcry for a touch from the Living Word. It is shocking how much confidence God has in His creation yet astounds me with joy in believing this to be true. The presence of God revealed to Mary the delight He has in her. The radiance from her face was glowing. "This is amazing! I will be a mother for the Lord! As his servant, I accept whatever he has for me. May everything you have told me come to pass" (Luke 1:38, TPT)! She knows who she is and her fear of the Lord brings fire to my veins.


My mother reminds me of Mary. Her willingness to carry me all the days of my life have astounded me. She's been to all of my baseball games. She's been to all of my basketball games. She's been to all my football games. She's been to all my soccer games. She always cheered me on and never thought twice to love me through the wins and losses. She's never doubted in my gifts and abilities to play sports well. She shows me constantly how much the Lord never doubts in me or His people. I can see the glory she carries. Her prayers over my brother and I are prophetic. Her heart is on fire for the Lord and His word all the days of her life. She knows how blessed and highly favored she is as a mother. She does not waver in the face of hell and runs towards the darkest places where there is much need for light. I will never know how much strength she possesses in her ability to love on people who are less fortunate than I am. It is amazing to me how she sees the glory of God in people. She is fierce in the way she loves others and nothing can stop her from loving the Lord. I have had the wonderful privilege of sitting at her feet and meditate on the words of Jesus coming from her lips into my heart. I carry the fire of God in my veins because I have always watched my mother pursue the Lord with incredible power. "Those who hunger for him will always be filled" (Luke 1:53, TPT). My mother knows this verse to be true. She lives it out everyday of her life. Her presence is filled to overflowing with the goodness of God.


Mom: You are chosen, loved, wanted, fought for and seen. The eyes of the Lord gaze into your willingness of being faithful to me, our family, and Him. You illuminate with glory. The Lord bless you to overflowing with the wonders of heaven.


Thank you for your sacrifices.

Thank you for your love.

Thank you for your joy.

Thank you for your passion.


I love you mom.


You are chosen.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page