top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Stephens

Richard Tillman

Meet Richard Tillman


It was a Wednesday afternoon on a hot summers day in Brooklyn New York. The rush of the city is quite fasinating. Constant traffic, loud noises, people walking, people talking and horns blaring. However, the moment that I looked at Richard, my presence became completely still. The Holy Spirit was so vivd when He interrupted me that day. His voice was passionately clear and quiet yet it was so powerful in my heart I couldn't help but respond:


"Buy him water."


In that moment I knew I had a choice to make; buy him water or continue on with my day. In the very next second after I heard His voice in my heart, Catrena Smith came up to me and said;


"You should go buy him some water."


Immediately I knew God wanted me to do something - to act from what I heard Him say. I went to the store, bought him a water and sat down next to Richard. He was so quiet, yet his presence was so wonderful. He did not talk much - he was very shy. I wanted to know him personally and listen to what was in his heart. His story was very brief but his life spoke volumes. Catrena, our team and I from Spread Truth Ministries wanted to do something for him - to get him off the streets and into a place where he is safe.


After the first day we met him, I went back to the hotel, crying perfusely in such a way that I couldn't stop. God shook me to the core and heaven was so near. My heart was so consumed from what God did the first day that it led to the rest of the trip becoming the premere focus. Our entire plans changed from then on out. Catrena, Nicki, and I began a journey of spending another 24-48 hours with Richard - abandoning everything we prepared for to begin this move of God that would shake our lives forever.


The next day, we took Richard on a journey around New York. He got to see all the sights and sounds that he has never seen before. We got to take him to lunch and take pictures with him in the city that never sleeps. Richard was much more open to speak with us about His life. It was amazing just to listen and respond with tender grace. That afternoon, we took him to the New York City Rescue Mission where he could recieve clean clothes, nice bed to sleep on and good food to eat. He was able to recieve a place to stay if he was willing. The countenance on his face was priceless. I will never forget Him. He will forever have a place in my heart.


I love social media. I have an Instagram account and a Facebook account (I had a twitter account but I deleted it because it wasn't really for me). However, social media has a way of drowning our hearts while uplifting our voices to the highest extent. We love the likes it brings because we feel noticed and loved. Unfortunately, it is only aritifical significance. We become so loud that we forget where our heart is at. Face to face community should drive our hearts to effectively demonstrate love on social media by honoring others. We speak about becoming faithful on instagram yet whenever faithfulness is on the line we forget our "divine origin" by keeping a distance from one another. There is a massive difference between being heard and being known.


This leads me to introduce the demonic spirit of racism that has uplifted from the horrific death of George Floyd. In order for the white community to effectively love our black citizens of this country, we must get to know their hearts and stories personally. I am not an expert on racial issues but my story with Richard (plus friends I have grown up to know personally) is what I will speak from to simply honor George Floyd. It is not much but it is all I have. We must love from a place of faith rather than a place of apathy or empathy. While empathy is important in the moments needed, we must move passed that into a place of compassion where we are demonstrating what Jesus represented. We must love them for who they really are as image bearers instead of standing from a distance to look at their image and say "I love you!" while the hole in their hearts have yet to be met. In reality, it becomes only complete infatuation if the demonic spirit of racism is not attacked with acts of kindness and grace. The kingdom of God must come and overshadow our hearts. Men and woman are tired of being put in the art gallery of your emotions while the substance of their hearts are still bitter and broken because we refuse to step out in faith to discover who they really are as humans. I love John Gray (John Gray's World! Listen to him preach sometime - he is amazing!) He mentioned something that drives me to my point. "Often times we look at an image and not the substance." Does Paul not make it clear at all when he says "for we live by faith, not by what we see with our eyes" (2 Corinthians 5:7, TPT). Stop looking at them and feeling guilty. Guilt is not a strategy - it only leads to more apathy - carelessly refusing to touch the surface of lasting compassion and grace.


People who are looking for real change are tired of the empathy and the apathy on social media - it only lasts for so long. Empathy can only go as far as your willingness to demonstrate acts of compassion. Therefore, we must step into their lives and love them passionately. This starts with loving the one closest to you and your neighbors (everyone you meet). We must release the fear of God by adoring the Father through honoring their presence and reaching out to touch their hearts with the grace of Jesus. We must love our neighbor. We must develop beautiful friendships with the African American community and demonstrate the love and grace they deserve. For their voices and hearts to be truly known, we must release acts of love that will shift us into a revival to destory the spirit of racial injustice.


During times of racial unrest, the only place we are able to recieve the rest we need is when we focus our attention on what God is doing and act accordingly to love humans without second thought. Justice will be served for George Floyd and his family but practicing being at peace with everyone must be guarded to effectively love others without racial indifference. Peace is the medicine for anger. The peace of God must be protected in our hearts in order for us to represent Christ effectively. In doing so, justice becomes a fruit that manifests with incredible authority.


"Keep turning your back on every sin,

and make “peace” your life motto.

Practice being at peace with everyone" (Psalm 34:14, TPT).


Today, I honor George Floyd by honoring Richard Tillman.

Both are beautiful names. Both are beautiful people.


I declare the blessings of peace over George Floyd's family.

I declare the blessings of peace over Richard Tillman and his family.


Jesus loves you both with a passion!

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page